Hello, Blogger. Who am I? I am a bookworm who has been stuck reading numerous books at once for God knows how long, regrettably including not too long ago the dreadful Water for Elephants and Witch & Wizard (I will not be reading the sequels, I refuse to give that hack Patterson any of my money). And now I am reading 11/22/63, Roger Ebert’s biography Life Itself, and E Nesbit’s classic “The House of Arden”. Fortunately, I finished the second book of The Kane Chronicles shortly about an hour ago.

Fortunate because when I wake up (assuming I ever get to sleep) J.K. Rowling’s new novel, The Casual Vacancy, will be released. I’ve known about this book for a while now, I’ve been really curious about it. I’ve been looking forward to this for a long time, and now in just 4 days….. wow. I’m a Harry Potter fan, although I haven’t read the last three, and I’ve very excited about this. It’s the first book she’s written I’ll be able to read when it was first released. <chuckles> I know it’s an adult book, but hey, I’ve read worse things, and… every nine-year-old in the world is gonna read it, so why not? Heh heh.

Somebody on TV Tropes mocked how they couldn’t believe she was actually naming the new main charatcer Barry. Like, is the next one gonna be Gary? But if it says that he dies in the premise then I’ve got a feeling he isn’t the main character. <laughs> Of course knowing her, there are probably gonna be a lot more deaths, right, right? I mean, it’s even the title — The Casual Vacancy. She’s talked about the meaning of it, it’s a brilliant double meaning, the casual vacancy of the city council and how death itself is often a casual vacancy, it was for her mother, not really for me in my life, I mean, my great-grandfather died at like 96 and we knew it was coming for a while, but hey, there’s an exception to almost anything, am I right, am I right?

I’m one of the few people who actually like the cover. Yeah, it is 70s – but I like old-fashioned things. I don’t like modernity, and I don’t like things from this century. So I’m the last person in the world who’d complain about that. And I think it suits the complex adult sorta risque style that this book is going to be, the title goes in well on there, and – I am afraid that it might not be very good – J.K. Rowling herself is worried about that kinda reception – but hey, like I said, I’m a fan, and I’m gonna read it on opening day, no matter what it is. And I will see you on that day. Goodbye.

