I know my reviews for The Casual Vacancy ended quite a while ago, but this is something I heard about long ago. The project was actually announced back in 2012, but I never mentioned it, primarily because Daniel discussed it here:

https://danielisreading.wordpress.com/2012/12/08/the-casual-vacancy-on-television/

This could be expected given the success of the 8 Harry Potter films released to theaters, but The Casual Vacancy was already adapted into a mini-series.

It was broadcast in the United Kingdom on 3 parts premiering February 15, 2015. But seeing as how I don’t live in the U.K., I decided not to post about it then. I didn’t want to put it off for so long, but, well, that is what I do, isn’t it?

So I’ll make this brief: The miniseries will premiere on HBO tonight, the first part airing at 8:00 P.M. EST, and the second at 9:00.

I’m eager to see it since I don’t know how audiences (particularly American audiences) will respond to a book so grimly realistic as The Casual Vacancy. I’ll list some of my expectations to start off my review. For now, I’ll just say I’m interested to see how it plays out.

